Visuddhimagga IV-185

Kadā pana nesaṃ pahānaṃ hotīti.


Ñ(IV,185): But when does the abandoning of these take place?

Catunnaṃ jhānānaṃ upacārakkhaṇe.


Ñ: At the moment of access of the four jhānas.

Somanassañhi catutthajjhānassa upacārakkhaṇeyeva pahīyati.


Ñ: For [mental] joy is only abandoned at the moment of the fourth-jhāna access,

Dukkhadomanassasukhāni paṭhamadutiyatatiyajjhānānaṃ upacārakkhaṇesu.


Ñ: while [bodily] pain, [mental] grief, and [bodily] bliss (pleasure) are abandoned respectively at the moments of access of the first, second, and third jhānas.

Evametesaṃ pahānakkamena avuttānampi indriyavibhaṅge pana indriyānaṃ uddesakkameneva idhāpi vuttānaṃ sukhadukkhasomanassadomanassānaṃ pahānaṃ veditabbaṃ.


Ñ: So although the order in which they are abandoned is not actually mentioned, nevertheless the abandoning of the pleasure, pain, joy, and grief, is stated here according to the order in which the faculties are summarized in the Indriya Vibhaṅga (Vbh. 122).

No comments:


Terms of use: You may copy, reformat, reprint, republish, and redistribute this work in any medium whatsoever, provided that: (1) you only make such copies, etc. available free of charge; and (2) Please ask permission from BPS to use the English translation of the Visuddhimagga.

Acknowledgment: Thanks to Buddhist Publication Society (BPS) and Venerable Nyanatusita for allowing me to use the English translation of the Visuddhimagga (The Path Of Purification) by Bhadantācariya Buddhaghosa, translated from the Pāḷi by Bhikkhu Ñāṇamoli, as part of a combined Chinese English translation.

Sādhu ! Sādhu ! Sādhu !